• 642.png

  • Helping our Missouri community grow since 1979



    103 South Oak Street
    Union, MO 63084




    Franklin County History


    Franklin County was separated from St. Louis County and established in 1818. Franklin County is named
    after the founding father, Benjamin Franklin. The county seat was originally in the village of Newport,
    the county seat was permanently moved to the City of Union is 1825.


    Franklin County is governed by a three member County Commission led by the Presiding Commissioner
    and has 13 municipalities. The historic and quaint towns of Franklin County such as Washington, Union, New Haven, Gerald and Sullivan, and the natural beauty of the area attracts many people to the county
    both as tourists and as new residents. The county covers 922.1 square miles and has a population of 101,492. There are 1,498 miles of roadways in Franklin County with 69% maintained by municipal and
    county governments, and 31% maintained by the State of Missouri.



    Franklin County Tourism

    Franklin County has a lot to offer when it comes to tourism. If you are interested in shopping at locally owned stores, taking a bike ride on the Katy Trail or enjoying wine at one of our amazing wineries,
    Franklin County has it all. Please follow Franklin County Tourism on Facebook or check out their website. 


     Franklin County Tourism Website